Practice Myths and Practice Truths

Presented by Wendy Higdon and Chris Grifa, Creekside Middle School Band Directors

September 26, Thursday, 8 p.m. EST, 7 p.m. CST, 6 p.m. MST, 5 p.m. PST

During this session Wendy Higdon and Chris Grifa will share Practice Myths and Practice Truths, giving us parents strategies to support our young musicians. You will learn how your kids can:

• Practice More Effectively
• Be more Efficient with their time
• See Greater Results
• And Have Much More Fun in the Process.

This webinar will have a "live" demonstration by middle school students of these teachers. For us visual learners, we will be able to see what we should be experiencing in our own household. We will also get a chance to see how SmartMusic is utilized as a practice tool in their teaching system.

Register now and be entered to win a subscription to SmartMusic during the event.

Wendy Higdon is the Director of Bands and Unified Arts Department Chair at Creekside Middle School. She began her career as Director of Bands at Lebanon Middle School (IN) in 1991 and came to Carmel Clay Schools in 1999 where she taught band at Carmel Middle School until the opening of Creekside in 2004. Under her leadership, the performing arts programs at Creekside have grown from 400 students in 2004 to nearly 900 students this year. The Creekside Wind Symphony was honored to perform at the Indiana Music Education Association Conference in January 2013 and will perform at the 2013 Midwest Clinic in Chicago this December.

Chris Grifa is the Co-Director of Bands and the Auditorium Director at Creekside Middle School. He began his teaching career in Virginia Beach, VA at Great Neck Middle School in 2004. He then became Director of Bands at Tri-North Middle School in Bloomington, IN before joining Carmel Clay Schools in 2010. Besides teaching middle school band, Mr. Grifa has been heavily involved with high school marching band and drum and bugle corps. He is currently on the music staff with the Carmel High School Marching Band.

Register Today!